3.2.8 Qualified Administrative/Academic Officers

The institution has qualified administrative and academic officers with the experience, competence, and capacity to lead the institution.

Judgment of Compliance

PVAMU SACS Accreditation - Judgement Compliance

Narrative of Compliance

The institution has qualified administrative and academic officers with the experience, competence, and capacity to lead the institution. As stated in Core Requirement 2.2, the Texas A&M University System Board of Regents is the legal body with specific authority over Prairie View A&M University.  The Board annually evaluates the performance of the chancellor of the system and the president of each university and the health center, and director of each agency. The Board, as stated in System Policy 01.03, Appointing Power and Terms and Conditions of Employment [1], is responsible for the selection and periodic evaluation of the president of the University. The Chief Executive Officer of Prairie View A&M University is George C. Wright, Ph.D., who is a noted African-American scholar [2]. Prior to this appointment, President Wright was Executive Vice-President for Academic Affairs and Provost at the University of Texas at Arlington.

System Policy 02.05 Presidents of Component Universities grants Dr. Wright the authority and responsibility regarding personnel matters that are necessary and appropriate for the efficient administration of the Prairie View A&M University [3]. The administrative officers are as follows:

Prairie View A&M University
Administrative Officers




Dr. E. Joahanne Thomas-Smith [4]

Provost and Senior Vice President of Academic Affairs

B.S. – Tuskegee Institute 
M.A. – New Mexico Highlands University
Ed.D. – Washington State University

Dr. Willie Trotty [5]

Vice President for Research and Development

B.S. – Stephen F. Austin State University
M.S. –  Stephen F. Austin State University
Ph.D. – Purdue University

Dr. Lauretta Byars [6]

Vice President for Student Affairs and Institutional Relations

B.A. – Morehead State University
M.S.W. – University of Kentucky
Ed.D.  University of Kentucky

Mrs. Mary Lee Hodge [7]

Vice President for Business Affairs

B.B.A.  – University of Texas Arlington
M.S. – University of Texas Arlington

Mr. Fred Washington [8]

Vice President for Auxiliary Services/ Athletic Director

B.B.A. – Prairie View A&M University
M.B.A. – Prairie View A&M University

Dr. Michael McFrazier [9]

Associate Provost and Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs

B.M.E.  – Baylor University
M.M. – Baylor University
Ed.D. – University of Arkansas

Mr. Don Byars [10]

Associate Provost for Enrollment Management

B.A. – Morehead State University
M.A. – Eastern Kentucky University

Dr. Carlos Clark [11]

Assistant Provost for Student Financial Aid

B.A. – Mississippi State University 
M.A. – Mississippi State University
Ph.D. – Mississippi State University

Dr. Elizebeth Noel [12]

Associate Vice President for Research

B.S. – Prairie View A&M University
M.Ed. – Prairie View A&M University
Ph.D. – Kansas State University

Dr. Myron Billingsley [13]

Associate Vice President for Student Affairs

B.A. – University of Arkansas Pine Bluff
M.A. -Texas Southern University
Ph.D. -Oklahoma State University

Mrs. Marilyn Maynard [14]

Assistant Vice President for Financial Services

B.B.A. – Texas A&M University

Mr. Rod Mireles [15]

Assistant Vice President  for Financial Accounting Reporting  and Procurement

B.B.A -Southwest Texas State University

Mrs. Tressey Wilson [16]

Assistant Vice President for Auxiliary Services

B.B.A – Prairie View A&M University  
M.Ed. – Prairie View A&M University

Mr. Albert Gee [17]

Assistant Vice President of Human Resources

B.A. -Tillotson College

Mr. Richard Norton [18]

Assistant Vice President of Physical Plant

AAS – Lamar University
B.B.S. –Wayland Baptist University

Mr. Luis-Pablo Grijalva [19]

Chief Information Officer

E.E. --Stanford University
MS –Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Mr. Jay Abbt [20]

Director, Environmental Health and Safety

B.E.M. – Columbia Southern University
ABE. – Community College of the USAF

Mr. Larry Raab [21]

Director Campus Planning and Space Management

B.A.  – Army War College  
M.A. – Sam Houston State

Ms. Betty Ricks [22]

Director, Budget and Reconciliation

B.S. –University of Houston

Dr. Dean Williamson [23]

Director, Institutional Relations

B.A.  – Sul Ross State University  
M.B.A. – Wayland Baptist University
Ph.D. – Regent University

The academic officers are as follows:

Prairie View A&M University
Academic Officers




Dr. Betty Adams  [24]

Dean, College of Nursing

B.S.N. – McNeese State University
M.N. – Emory University
Ph.D. – University of New Orleans

Dr. Kendall Harris [25]

Dean, Roy G. Perry College of Engineering

B.S. – University of Kansas
M.S. – University of Mississippi
Ph.D. – University of Mississippi

Dr. Danny Kelley [26]

Dean, Marvin D. and June Samuel Brailsford College of Arts and Sciences

B.A. – Prairie View A&M University
M.M. – Peabody Conservatory of Music, Johns Hopkins University
D.M. – Peabody Conservatory of Music , Johns Hopkins University

Dr. William H. Parker [27]

Dean, Graduate School

B.S. – Alcorn State University
M.Ed. – Indiana University  
Ed.D. – University of Miami

Dr. Munir Quddus [28]

Dean, College of Business

B.S. – Dhaka University
M.A. – Vanderbilt University
Ph.D. – Vanderbilt University

Dr. Elaine Rodney [29]

Dean, College of Juvenile Justice and Psychology

Teacher’s Diploma  – Bethlehem Teacher’s College
M.A. – Western Carolina University
Ph.D. – Ohio State University

Dr. Freddie Richards [30]

Dean, College of Agriculture and Human Sciences

B.S. – Alabama A&M University
M.Ed. – Tuskegee University
Ph.D. – Pennsylvania State University

Dr. Ikhlas Sabouni [31]

Dean, College of Architecture

B.Arch.  – Damascus University
M.Arch. – Rice University
D. Arch. – Rice University

Dr. Lucian Yates, III[32]

Dean, Whitlow Green College of Education

A.B.  – Morehead State University
M.S. – Morehead State University
Ph.D. –Ohio University

Dr. Rosie Albritton [33]

Director, John B. Coleman Library

B.S.  – Tennessee State University
M.A.S.L. – University of Michigan
Ph.D. – University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign

Dr. Dennis Daniels [34]

Director, Undergraduate Medical Academy

B.A. – University of Texas
M.P.H. – University of Texas
Dr.P.H. – University of Texas

Mrs. Lettie Raab [35]

Director, University College

B.A. -- Arizona State
M.A. -- Webster College

Administrative officers serve without fixed terms and at the pleasure of the president. All vice presidents are evaluated annually each spring by the president. Likewise, the vice presidents evaluate the performance of associate vice president, assistant vice presidents, deans and key directors during the spring of the academic year. Evaluations are provided in Comprehensive Standard 3.2.10. All position descriptions [36] are kept in the Office of Human Resources. Prairie View A&M University is an equal opportunity employer and promotes hiring without regard to race, color, religion, age, disability, sex, natural origin or veteran status.

Supporting Documentation and Links

Comprehensive Standards 3.2.8

© 2009 Prairie View A&M University