3.2.8 Qualified Administrative/Academic Officers

The institution has qualified administrative and academic officers with the experience, competence, and capacity to lead the institution.

Link to Original Submission

Off Site Committee Review Findings

A review of PVAMU’s administrative and academic officers’ credentials and organizational chart provided partial information to make a determination regarding the qualifications of the institutions’ officers. Position descriptions for each administrative and academic officer identified on the organizational chart should be provided in addition to qualifications. The institution has a process in place to evaluate administrative and academic officers.

Prairie View A& M Response to Off Site Review

Position descriptions for each administrative and academic officer are available and accessible via the PV PAWS (Position Attribute Web Site) system [1] in the Office of Human Resources. The Office of Human Resources implemented the PV PAWS system in 2006 to replace and eliminate the paper system previously used and to facilitate efficiency. The PV PAWS system is a web based system that allows all departments to complete and store position descriptions online, create new and reclassify existing positions online, update employee position descriptions during the annual performance evaluation process, electronically route position requests for approval, view current status of pending requests online and view the history of approved requests.

Position descriptions are reviewed and/or updated during the annual performance evaluation process [2]. Updated position descriptions for PVAMU administrative and academic officers are listed in the chart below.

Prairie View A&M University
Administrative Officers


Position/Position Description


Dr. E. Joahanne Thomas-Smith

Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs [3]

B.S. – Tuskegee Institute 
M.A. – New Mexico Highlands University
Ed.D. – Washington State University

Dr. Willie Trotty

Vice President for Research and Development [4]

B.S. – Stephen F. Austin State University
M.S. –  Stephen F. Austin State University
Ph.D. – Purdue University

Dr. Lauretta Byars

Vice President for Student Affairs and Institutional Relations [5]

B.A. – Morehead State University
M.S.W. – University of Kentucky
Ed.D.  University of Kentucky

Mrs. Mary Lee Hodge

Vice President for Business Affairs [6]

B.B.A.  – University of Texas Arlington
M.S. – University of Texas Arlington

Mr. Fred Washington

Vice President for Auxiliary Services/ Athletic Director [7]

B.B.A. – Prairie View A&M University
M.B.A. – Prairie View A&M University

Dr. Michael L. McFrazier

Associate Provost and Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs [8]

B.M.E.  – Baylor University
M.M. – Baylor University
Ed.D. – University of Arkansas

Mr. Don Byars

Associate Provost for Enrollment Management [9]

B.A. – Morehead State University
M.A. – Eastern Kentucky University

Dr. Carlos Clark

Assistant Provost for Student Financial Aid [10]

B.A. – Mississippi State University 
M.A. – Mississippi State University
Ph.D. – Mississippi State University

Dr. Elizebeth Noel

Associate Vice President for Research [11]

B.S. – Prairie View A&M University
M.Ed. – Prairie View A&M University
Ph.D. – Kansas State University

Dr. Myron Billingsley

Associate Vice President for Student Affairs [12]

B.A. – University of Arkansas Pine Bluff
M.A. -Texas Southern University
Ph.D. -Oklahoma State University

Mrs. Marilyn Maynard

Assistant Vice President for Financial Services [13]

B.B.A. – Texas A&M University

Mr. Rod Mireles

Assistant Vice President  for Financial Accounting Reporting  and Procurement [14]

B.B.A -Southwest Texas State University

Mrs. Tressey Wilson

Assistant Vice President for Auxiliary Services [15]

B.B.A – Prairie View A&M University 
M.Ed. – Prairie View A&M University

Mr. Albert Gee

Assistant Vice President of Human Resources [16]

B.A. -Tillotson College

Mr. Richard Norton

Assistant Vice President of Physical Plant [17]

AAS – Lamar University
B.B.S. –Wayland Baptist University

Mr. Luis-Pablo Grijalva

Chief Information Officer [18]

E.E. --Stanford University
MS –Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Mr. Jay Abbt

Director, Environmental Health and Safety [19]

B.E.M. – Columbia Southern University
ABE. – Community College of the USAF

Mr. Larry Raab

Director Campus Planning and Space Management [20]

B.A.  – Army War College  
M.A. – Sam Houston State

Ms. Betty Ricks

Director, Budget and Reconciliation [21]

B.S. –University of Houston

Dr. Dean Williamson

Director, Institutional Relations [22]

B.A.  – Sul Ross State University  
M.B.A. – Wayland Baptist University
Ph.D. – Regent University

The academic officers are as follows:

Prairie View A&M University
Academic Officers


Position/Position Descriptions


Dr. Betty Adams

Dean, College of Nursing [23]

B.S.N. – McNeese State University
M.N. – Emory University
Ph.D. – University of New Orleans

Dr. Kendall Harris

Dean, Roy G. Perry College of Engineering [24]

B.S. – University of Kansas
M.S. – University of Mississippi
Ph.D. – University of Mississippi

Dr. Danny Kelley

Dean, Marvin D. and June Samuel Brailsford College of Arts and Sciences [25]

B.A. – Prairie View A&M University
M.M. – Peabody Conservatory of Music, Johns Hopkins University
D.M. – Peabody Conservatory of Music , Johns Hopkins University

Dr. William H. Parker

Dean, Graduate School [26]

B.S. – Alcorn State University
M.Ed. – Indiana University  
Ed.D. – University of Miami

Dr. Munir Quddus

Dean, College of Business [27]

B.S. – Dhaka University
M.A. – Vanderbilt University
Ph.D. – Vanderbilt University

Dr. Elaine Rodney

Dean, College of Juvenile Justice and Psychology [28]

Teacher's Diploma.  – Bethlehem Teacher’s College
M.A. – Western Carolina University
Ph.D. – Ohio State University

Dr. Freddie Richards

Dean, College of Agriculture and Human Sciences [29]

B.S. – Alabama A&M University
M.Ed. – Tuskegee University
Ph.D. – Pennsylvania State University

Dr. Ikhlas Sabouni

Dean, School of Architecture [30]

B.Arch.  – Damascus University
M.Arch. – Rice University
D. Arch. – Rice University

Dr. Lucian Yates, III

Dean, Whitlow Green College of Education [31]

A. B.  – Morehead State University
M.S. – Morehead State University
Ph.D. –Ohio University

Dr. Rosie Albritton

Director, John B. Coleman Library [32]

B.S.  – Tennessee State University
M.A.S.L. – University of Michigan
Ph.D. – University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign

Dr. Dennis Daniels

Director, Undergraduate Medical Academy [33]

B.A. – University of Texas
M.P.H. – University of Texas
Dr.P.H. – University of Texas

Mrs. Lettie Raab

Director, University College [34]

B.A. -- Arizona State
M.A. -- Webster College

Additional Supporting Documentation and Links

© 2009 Prairie View A&M University